Pricing
What we charge, and when
One price is set today: $595 including GST for a design consult, credited in full against a build contract signed within six months. Package prices are not set yet, so the pages show the published market ranges instead. Build payments follow a schedule we publish here rather than one you find out at signing.
Set and payable
Design consult
$595
incl. GST · credited in full to a build contract signed within 6 months
- About 90 minutes in your kitchen: measure and brief
- Two layout options drawn to scale (PDF)
- A line-item budget range with a source for every band
- A written scope, and a check of what needs a licensed trade or a consent
- Credited in full against a build contract signed within 6 months
Market range, not our price
Refresh
$15,000–$25,000
Budget tier, New Zealand (CheckMyBuilder, July 2026, GST basis not stated). Our from-price appears here once partner quotes set it.
New doors, drawer fronts, handles, benchtop and splashback on the cabinet carcasses you already have.
Refresh in detail →Market range, not our price
Replace
$25,000–$45,000
Mid-range tier, New Zealand (CheckMyBuilder, July 2026, GST basis not stated). Our from-price appears here once partner quotes set it.
New cabinetry throughout, new benchtop and splashback, new appliances, services renewed where they already are.
Replace in detail →Market range, not our price
Remodel
$45,000–$90,000
Premium tier, New Zealand (CheckMyBuilder, July 2026, GST basis not stated). Our from-price appears here once partner quotes set it.
A new layout: services moved, an island added, sometimes a wall opened up. Consent and licensed structural work.
Remodel in detail →The payment schedule, published
Each payment is tied to something you can see happen, not to a date on a calendar. Nobody else in this market publishes theirs before you are in the room.
| % | When | Why |
|---|---|---|
| 20% | On signing the contract | Less your $595 consult credit. |
| 40% | When your cabinetry goes into manufacture | This pays the workshop's material order. |
| 30% | On delivery to site | |
| 10% | On completion | Once the plumber's and electrician's compliance records are handed over. |
Proposed schedule, to be confirmed against our joinery partner's terms before any contract is signed. Published now so you can compare it with what else you are offered.
What others ask for
- Sunshine Joinery: 35% before manufacture, 50% before install.
- HK Kitchens: 50%, eight weeks before install.
Large deposits are normal, because cabinetry is made for your room and cannot be resold. Why, and what to ask before you pay.
Fees and GST, stated plainly
- Card payments cost 2.65% + $0.30 domestically (Stripe NZ). On the $595 consult that is $16.
- Bank transfer is offered for build milestones, because a card fee on a five-figure payment is real money.
- Every price on this site is GST inclusive. We register for GST before the first build contract: two mid-range jobs pass the $60,000 threshold (Inland Revenue).
- Stripe fees are not returned on a refund, and we do not deduct them from what we refund you.
Not taking build payments yet
No build contract is offered until our joinery workshop, designer, authorised plumber and registered electrician are signed, our insurance is in place and our contract has been through a lawyer. Where we are up to.
Pricing questions
Why don't you publish a price for each package?
Because we do not have one yet. Our package prices will come from real quotes on standard scopes from the joinery workshop we are contracting. Publishing a made-up "from" figure would be worse than publishing nothing.
What do I actually pay today?
$595 including GST for a design consult, and nothing else unless you accept a fixed-price contract. Until our launch trades are signed we are not taking payment at all: the consult form is an enquiry.
Is the payment schedule negotiable?
The stages are the point, so the shape stays. The percentages are proposed and will be confirmed against our joinery partner's own terms before anyone signs anything.
Card or bank transfer?
Both. For large milestones bank transfer avoids the card fee: at Stripe's New Zealand domestic rate of 2.65% + $0.30, a $6,000 payment costs about $160.
Are you registered for GST?
Not yet. We will register before the first build contract, because two mid-range jobs pass the $60,000 threshold (Inland Revenue). Every price shown on this site is GST inclusive so the number does not change when we do.
Sources
- CheckMyBuilder, kitchen renovation cost (updated July 2026)
- Sunshine Joinery, terms of trade (PDF)
- HK Kitchens, process FAQs
- Stripe pricing, New Zealand
- Inland Revenue, registering for GST
Checked 15 September 2026. We re-check every published figure quarterly.